The city council passed Story’s ordinance in 1897, which stated that prostitution was limited to the area between North Robertson and North Basin streets, and from Customhouse (Iberville street) to St. Louis streets.
The downtown red light district was soon dubbed the name Storyville after its creator, Sidney Alderman Story. On New Year’s Day, 1898, the area of Storyville became the city’s new legal experiment. “The entire city looked forward to an era of improvement and stability as a result of the new law.”
New Orleans, LA ~ 1897
Tom Andersons Cafe 1910-17